VMware Cloud Community
vFlorin
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Virtualising Win 2k SP4 machine to ESXi 6.5.0

Hello,

I am very new to virtualisation. This is my situation:

- i have an EXSi 6.5.0 server installed. (until now i managed to create virtual machine on it and to hot clone and line ubuntu machine with success)

- now i want to make an virtual server from an working Windows 2000 SP4. I am struggling with this one for more than a week. What have i tried so far:

1. vmware converter agent standalone 6.1.1 from an Windows 7 machine - fails to install the client on the Win 2k server

2. tried to install vmware converter agent standalone 6.1.1 on the win 2K server - failed : it get's stuck at the install

3. installed wmware converter agent 3.0.3 and 4.1.1 on the Win 2k machine - the conversion process fails before it starts. (for 4.1.1 version the error is : "Unable to contact the specified host '192.168.xxx.xxx'. This might be because the host is not available on the network, there is a network configuration problem, or the management services on this host are not responding." )

4. tried coldclone version of 3.0.3 and 4.1.1 - fails before it starts the actual process (the 4.1.1 version outputs an error related to SSL)

The machines are on the same LAN and can ping each others. I don't care if i FUBAR the EXSi machine (it's for testing purpose only) but i can't screw up the Win 2K machine - it is used in the company. If you need more detailed info please specify.

I  need some guidance, searched google a lot but none of the solution worked.

If i didn't open the post in the right section please move it. Thank you.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
vFlorin
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

It seems this is an monolog....

This is how i "resolved" the situation: