VMware Cloud Community
NickKeene
Contributor
Contributor

VCenter permission propogation to new datastores

Good day all,

I would like to open this question by stating that I am by no means an expert (or even very good) on VCenter or VSphere and am entirely self taught so I may be using terms incorrectly or misunderstand answers and I would like to ask for forgiveness up front.

On to my question.

Background:

I have been tasked with coming up with a solution for the following. A client is wanting to use a shared Center cluster as a DR site, they do not own or manage the Center cluster and I do not work for the company that owns or manages the cluster. There are other (non-related) customers VMs running on the cluster as well.

The software used (Acronis Cyber Backup - VMware virtual appliance) allows the customer to run a VM from a backup archive and it works well. Normally, the customer would own the VMware infrastructure or have complete access and control over it so permissions propagation is not an issue. However as this is a shared environment we cannot have access non-related systems.

To resolve this we have created a Resource Pool and a unique user (Backup User) with the permissions over the Resource Pool and the datastores and vNICs required applied to the agent (worker), and it allows  permissions inheritance to its children. This works perfectly for a normal restore however, using instant restore fails. This is because the instant restore feature, creates and mounts a temporary NFS datastore to the host/cluster and because the agent permissions are limited to the Resource Pool the new (temporary) datastore does not inherit the permissions.

Question:

My question is, is there any way I can set permissions for my Backup User to be granted permissions to this new datastore automatically? 

I would greatly appreciate any assistance and guidance. I will answer any questions as best I can.

Thank you for your help.

Nick

0 Kudos
6 Replies
scott28tt