VMware Cloud Community
PCPUK
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VCenter 5.5 New Install - VCenter Not Showing in Web Client

Hi,

I've installed a fresh simple installation of 5.5 VCenter Server today with all associated pieces.  I can access the web client fine and it will also authenticate with SSO (even though I haven't allowed my username anywhere, maybe as I'm a domain admin it allows this?).  Anyway I digress, when logging into the web client the VCenter count is showing at 0 and I'm obviously unable to perform any tasks at all.

Obviously my link between the VCenter Server and Webclient has gone amiss somewhere and I'm struggling to see how to resolve this.  From my research in 5.5 it should just auto connect and you don't need to "register" as we had to do with the older versions.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks,

Paul

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
bayupw
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Hi

As described in this KB VMware KB: Installing the vSphere 5.5 Web Client on a Microsoft Windows platform

One of the post installation steps of vSphere Web Client is adding SSO Identity Source

Log into the vSphere Web Client and authenticate using the administrator@vsphere.local domain to verify that the SSO and vSphere Web Client are working correctly.

You may also add an external identity source, such as Open LDAP and Active Directory, before deploying vCenter Server and Inventory Services.

For more information on the different types of Identity Sources for vSphere 5.5, see the Add a vCenter Single Sign-On Identity Source section of the vSphere Installation and Setup Guide

Did you login using domain account (user@yourdomain.com)?

Have you tried logging in with username administrator@vsphere.local?

As per vSphere Documentation vSphere 5.5 Documentation Center

When an identity source is added, all users can be authenticated but have the No access permission.