VMware Cloud Community
NateC16
Contributor
Contributor

Question with Clustering

Hey guys hopefully this is the right spot for this. Anyway, I'm fairly new to this vmware stuff and i was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.

So we are starting to move our servers to virtual machines. And I know we aren't using it to the fullest potential so I figured i'd ask a few questions.

Now I think i understand the "clustering" term, and tell me if im wrong, but from what i get from all of it is that clustering is basically connecting all of the hosts together. More or less..I'm sure there's more technical things along w/ it but.

But the main thing im wondering is if this is possible or if im going at it the right way.

So we are moving to another building and this is how are servers will look: Or somewhat look

Host 1 - Dell R620Host 2 - Dell R720Host 3 - Dell R720Host 4 - Dell R620
Domain Controller (Primary)Domain Controller (Secondary)SCCMOther

Sharepoint

Lync?OtherOther
Print ServerOther
License Server 1
License Server 2

2 of these will not be on site, and 2 will.

1) Through vCenter are you able to cluster things that are not in the same building? Im assuming you are, but i'd rather make sure.

2) Also can you cluster servers that aren't the same? like the 4 above.

3) How would we set it up so if a host goes down the servers can get moved without everything going down?

Sorry for so many questions I just want to take advantage of the virtualization and use it to its fullest potential, and rather have people who know a lot more than me help me out.

also if there's any good reading or something that can help alot im game for anything

0 Kudos
7 Replies
ssbkang
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi Nate,

Here are the answers to your questions:

1) Yes, you can create two different clusters and can manage them through vCenter server. The location of the ESXi servers won't matter.