VMware Cloud Community
IdahoTech
Contributor
Contributor

Noob Question on VMWare VCenter and reinstalling server...

Hello everyone,

I am somewhat in a quandary here and need some help. I want to just say out front I am not a newbie to the world of VM, but I am a noob in the terms that I wear many hats like everyone here as well as being the Sr. IT Tech and still have to do work orders, move cable, computers, troubleshoot many systems in our district, etc...So overwhelmed would probably be best to describe it here. Over the past few years we have been piecing together our VMWare Environment (due to us being a school district with limited funds). Let me give you the short of it:

1 VMWare VCenter server on 200GB of a 9 TB system.

6 Vmware ESXi servers running different version of VMWare...from 4.0 to 5.5 rev b.

Here is my problem. I want to upgrade all my systems to the newest VMWare 6.x as well as VCenter.

I used to have a iSCSI setup and created iSCSI drives on the rest of the 9TB's on the VCenter server and linked them to other systems. Then after a power outage we lost our our iSCSI and I had to recreate it and after some time thought about it and made the decision to Move all the VM's to their appropriate servers, leaving the 2 iSCSI 2tb drives unused on the VCenter server as well as 4.5TB unallocated.

The reason for the mess above is we had heard that if you run iSCSI and the system goes down and you loose  the connection to the iSCSI it is like pulling the plug on a running drive thus loosing all your VM's. I believe, though, once I get this all in place it will make life a lot easier.

Here are my questions:

1. Can I totally destroy the VCenter server reload it with the latest VCenter Server software (on a smaller server) without damage to the running VM's on the ESXi Servers?