VMware Cloud Community
mdterp
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

National vCenter deployment

I have over 100 sites across the USA.  All have decent bandwidth connectivity back to the HQ.  I am fairly new to VMware, but have a long IT background.

Someone decided to roll out vCenter Appliances at each site or maybe just a few.  That seems crazy.  vCenter is for central admin, right?

My thinking is that we should have one full vCenter install in windows at the HQ that manages the rest, maybe a better plan would be to run one in the east and one in the west and link them.

This project has not started yet, but I believe it is going to start soon.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
schepp
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Hey,

I saw a whitepaper about vCenter 5.0 performance in Remote Offices from 2012 that might be interesting for you:

blog:  vCenter 5.0 Performance in Remote Offices and Branch Offices (ROBO) | VMware VROOM! Blog - VMware Bl...

whitepaper: http://www.vmware.com/files/pdf/techpaper/VMW-WP-Performance-vCenter.pdf

Regards

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
pierreLx
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Hi,

First of all, Linked Mode is not supported in vCenter Appliance so you won't be able to manage to whole infrastructure on a single vsphere client window.

One thing to take care of is that vCenter retrieve statistics from hosts and VMs and it can be a real problem if you have a lot of vms on remote sites and manage by a single vCenter.

So multiple vCenter in linked mode is the best choice.

Regards

Pierre

0 Kudos
schepp
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

You should also consider the vSphere maximums: http://www.vmware.com/pdf/vsphere5/r51/vsphere-51-configuration-maximums.pdf

With 100 sites it sounds like you might hit the configuration maxixum of 1000 ESXi hosts per vCenter instance.

Regards

0 Kudos
mdterp
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution