VMware Cloud Community
RHamaker
Contributor
Contributor

Horizon View not customizing

Guys and Gals, I am stumped on this one and don't really know how to troubleshoot it.  I am brand new to Horizon View and trying to set up a pool of floating desktops.  I have a windows 7 64 image that is patched (windows patches) and has the horizon view client installed as per the VMware white papers.  I have not loaded an antivirus solution on this image, as it is just for testing right now.  I did see the articles about there needing to be a microsoft patch applied to the systems to fix a compatability issue with the VMXNET 3 adapter, but i am using the E1000 adapter with my setup, plus i checked and the patch is already applied to the system. 

I setup the pool friday, and as of this morning, one of the machines says customizing and the other one timed out while customizing (I only put two machines in this test pool).  Horizon View will go through and create the objects in Active Directory, but the machines will not set their hostnames nor will they join the domain.  I am thinking there maybe an issue with the customization file in general, as i haven't had much success making it work with VCenter either. 

Thoughts or directions you could point me would be greatly appreciated.

Screen shot of error is attached, i know it probably isnt much help though.  The FQDN is removed, but the customization template has it added.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Linjo
Leadership
Leadership

This is usually because of Windows Activation. Are you using MAK or KMS?

Best regards, Linjo Please follow me on twitter: @viewgeek If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful".
0 Kudos
RHamaker
Contributor
Contributor

We are using token activation.  It is activated from a smart card.

So i guess technically its a KMS system, but the root certificates are loaded into the system and it is activated off the roots in the trusted store.

0 Kudos
Linjo
Leadership
Leadership