VMware {code} Community
Footyfoot
Contributor
Contributor

ESXI PoweCLI Creating new NTFS partition with newly created VM

Hi!

Im looking for someone who can help me with my problem.

I am using ESXI and PowerCLI to automate a Windows 10 creation and installation.

I made a unatended ISO so that all the setup questions are ingored. But my ISO wants to look for a NTFS hard disk to install on.

So now in my script im trying to setup a new partition before it loads the ISO into the new VM. But I cant seem to get it right. It says: Error: A positional parameter cannot be found that accepts argument 'New-Partition'.

Im doing this for a school project and i have little experience with Powershell but so far it has been very interesting.

My code: (ive used the main part that was created by David Rodrigeuz and added the commands i needed to it)

<#
===========================================================================
Script Created by: David Rodriguez
Blog: www.sysadmintutorials.com
Twitter: @systutorials
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/sysadmintutorials
===========================================================================
.DESCRIPTION
This script will automate the creation of virtual machine within ESXi
#>

$vmhostipaddress = Read-Host "Enter the IP of your VMware ESXi Host"
$vmhostcreds = Get-Credential -Message "Please enter the root username and password"

Write-Host -ForegroundColor Yellow "`n---- Connecting to VMware ESXi Host ----"
try{
Connect-VIServer $vmhostipaddress -User "$($vmhostcreds.UserName)" -Password ([System.Runtime.InteropServices.Marshal]::PtrToStringAuto([System.Runtime.InteropServices.Marshal]::SecureStringToBSTR($vmhostcreds.Password))) -ErrorAction Stop | Out-Null
Write-Host -ForegroundColor Green "Successfully connected to VMware ESXi Host"
}
catch
{
Write-Warning -Message $("Something went wrong connecting to the ESXi host. Please read the error message and re-run the script. Error: "+ $_.Exception.Message)
Break;
}