VMware {code} Community
helpme201110141
Contributor
Contributor

Mapping a datastore to Multiple hosts

Hi All,

I am new to storage domain. I have a query regarding datastore.

I have created a datastore (to be specific VMFSDatastore).....My query is, can we map a datastore to multiple hosts.......

i tried finiding it but i am not getting a concrete answer........

i tried using Vsphere Java API but i coulnd find any way of doing it.............

please help me out...

Thanks in advance...

0 Kudos
3 Replies
lamw
Community Manager
Community Manager

Yes, if you have a reference to datastore mor, there is a property called host which contains an array of hosts who currently attach to the datastore. Take a look at the vSphere API reference for more details - http://www.vmware.com/support/developer/vc-sdk/visdk41pubs/ApiReference/vim.Datastore.html

0 Kudos
helpme201110141
Contributor
Contributor

Hi lamw,

Thanks for the reply......

what you are saying is checking how many hosts are using a datastore which i belive is fine but my query is while creating a datastore, can it be mapped to more than hosts.

As per my understanding, A datastore is used as storage for Vertual machine on a host( though vertual machines from different Hosts can use same datastore but i guess this is doen while creating a vertual machine on a host) .

The link which you have given says

"Datastores are configured per host. As part of host configuration, a HostSystem can be configured to mount a set of network drives. Multiple hosts may be configured to point to the same storage location. There exists only one Datastore object per Datacenter, for each such shared location. Each Datastore object keeps a reference to the set of hosts that have mounted the datastore. A Datastore object can be removed only if no hosts currently have the datastore mounted.