VMware Communities
JBHox
Contributor
Contributor

.lck file deletion

Is it it normal for .lck files to be automatically deleted when using OneDrive? I am receiving pop-up notices from OneDrive telling me MXXXX.lck file has been deleted and is recoverable within 30 days in the OneDrive Recycle Bin. I did not manually delete them. I have been using VMWare Workstation Pro for about 2 years and this just started. There have been at least 6 file deletions of .lck files in the last two uses. 

Host Operating System: Windows 10 Pro

Guest Operating System: Windows 10 Pro

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

So you are storing the folder and files of a VM in your OneDrive folder?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
0 Kudos
DCasota
Expert
Expert

Could be a conflicting Onedrive issue when items are removed from all your synced devices.

Which Onedrive and Workstation version do you use? Afaik the cloud storage product Onedrive got a new x64 client with a per-machine installation option.

Do you use VMware Workstation with shared folder?

Did you separate the working directory to a non-Onedrive Sync location and the virtual machine directory in VMware Workstation?

0 Kudos
wila
Immortal
Immortal

Hi,

AFAIK OneDrive is not compatible with virtual machines. If you depend on OneDrive to save your VM's then I recommend you to make additional backups.

For example see this thread:
https://communities.vmware.com/t5/VMware-Workstation-Pro/VM-disk-gets-corrupted-randomly-Buffer-I-O-...

--
Wil

| Author of Vimalin. The virtual machine Backup app for VMware Fusion, VMware Workstation and Player |
| More info at vimalin.com | Twitter @wilva
0 Kudos
DCasota
Expert
Expert