VMware Communities
devaholics_ps
Contributor
Contributor

Workstation Pro 16.2.3: Pick your Poison -> Massive Input Lag or Rendering Issues

After searching what feels like the whole internet and spending multiple hours trying to fix my issues, my last hope is to get some tips pointing me in the right direction here. 

First, let me start by giving you an overview of the setup that I am using and why:

I am running Workstation Pro 16.2.3 on a Dell XPS 17 (2021) with Windows 11.

As a guest OS I mainly use Ubuntu 22.04, but I verified that the issues exist across various Linux OSs (Manjaro, Fedora) running Gnome.

Since I work as a developer for multiple clients with different toolchains, I am am running a VM for each customer to have a dedicated development environment for them without interfering with the tools required for other customers.

This setup worked quite well when I started out doing things this way in March with Ubuntu 21.10 and Ubuntu 20.04.

Since updating to Ubuntu 22.04, I am now facing a dilemma which makes my setup effectively unusable.

After updating to Ubuntu 22.04, I started seeing rendering issues when working in IntelliJ and Chrome. IntelliJ would render white boxes for some icons or other highlighting elements and popups. Chrome would have various rendering issues where also icons would not render properly, disappear on hover, or even rendering "empty" boxes where other UI elements were supposed to be.
I did not confirm/see any other major problems since for the current clients I am doing mainly web- and backend-development so I spend most of my time in the IDE or the browser.