VMware Communities
jokerjoed
Contributor
Contributor

Workstation 9 - Shared Folders option is locking files

I've been using VMWare for weel over 7 years and have never had this issue.  I typically complete scripts using the host machine.  I then create a shared folders configuration to my scripting folder on my host.  Using the CMD wing in the guest (everything is Windows), i run the script.  If there is an error, I go back tot he host, make a change, save it, then simply retest on the guest.

this issue I'm having, it once I enable "shared folders", I can not make changes to teh file from teh host.  I need to etierh save as a different name or diable shared folders, save the script and then re-enable the shared folders so I can test.  Very anoying

I completed Google searches and was very suprised at the lack of infomration on this issue.  I did find some links, so I know I'm not the only one.

Is this a known issue with VMWare that they are working on fixing?

18 Replies
jokerjoed
Contributor
Contributor

Am I the only one having this issue?

0 Kudos
louyo
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hard to say. It is almost impossible to define the problem from your original post.

When you try to edit the files from the guest, what is the error message?

What happens if you create a share (net use) instead of the (sometimes problematic) shared folders option?

Is the guest user a registered user on the host (with proper permissions)?

I occaisonally use shared folders to my Linux host and I have to make sure of proper permissions. I find it much more reliable to use shares via Samba server on the host and mapped drives on the guest, but still have to watch permissions.

Lou

0 Kudos
jokerjoed
Contributor
Contributor

I will explain again and just to let you know, I’ve been doing this with the previous versions of VMWare Workstation and Fusion(Mac) without an issue, so something has changed.

Environment

Host – Windows 7x64

Guest – Windows 2008 R2x64