VMware Communities
Derek_G
Contributor
Contributor

Workstation 8 install fails Error 1320 - specified path is too long

The installion process for Workstation 8 fails with:

Error 1320.  The specified path is too long C:\Users\Public\Documents\Shared Virtual Machines.

The install is clearly trying to confirm the existence of the "Shared Virtual Machines" folder, but if any

part of this path is an NTFS Directory Junction then the install fails.  In my case, the Documents directory

is an NTFS Join to another complete volume for my Public folders.   The error 1320 occurs even if the

"Shared Virtual Machines" folder already exists.

Since the "Shared Virtual Machines" folder can be created using standard Windows commands (i.e. a CMD file)

it would be helpful NOT to have to remove the junction just to install Workstation * because a lot of other

processes and applications have to be manually stopped to remove and restore this NTFS Junction.

As yet, I have no knowledge of any problems the NTFS Junction might cause when using the Shared Virtual

Machines functionality in Workstation 8.  This would make it quite a show stopper as opposed to just an

installation irritation.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

nteresting
does the installer ask for a path tothe shared VMs ?
if not may be it would help
to write a file like this named datastores.xml yourself and put it into

<ConfigRoot>
  <LocalDatastores>
    <_length>1</_length>
    <_type>hostd.host.LocalDatastoreEntry[]</_type>
    <e id="0">
      <_type>hostd.host.LocalDatastoreEntry</_type>
      <id>1</id>
      <name>standard</name>
      <path>C:\Users\Public\Documents\Shared Virtual Machines</path>
    </e>
  </LocalDatastores>
  <NasVolumes>
    <_length>0</_length>
    <_type>hostd.host.NasDatastoreEntry[]</_type>
  </NasVolumes>
</ConfigRoot>

and put it into C:\ProgramData\VMware\hostd
Probably you should then use a different path ...

0 Kudos
Derek_G
Contributor
Contributor