VMware Communities
Old_Spilly
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Why can't newly installed XP guest OS see network

I'm a complete VMWare newbie (tho' quite an old IT hand).

I've searched the forum, but couldn't find any obvious clues. I apologise if I haven't looked well enough

I am trying to help a friend install some very old AutoCAD software on his Win 10 x64 setup.

This version of AutoCAD has issues with unsigned drivers etc, so we're trying an XP Virtual machine route.

I've just installed Workstation Pro 12, created a new VM, bunged in an Original Microsoft XP SP3 non-OEM install disk and entered a product key from a long dead box.

Everything installed OK, so I logged on to XP to look around...

...Er, no it didn't install OK.  It didn't install the VM tools on creating the VM, possibly because I did a full OS install.

So I had to google for help, start a service that was stopped and then the Tools would install OK

THEN I logged on to look around my new VM...

1) Where is Windows Explorer?  Or do you have to navigate from My Documents or My Computer every time?

2) Where is Internet Explorer?  How can I browse the web?  Or can't I??

Ping says   "Can't find host"   for any valid web address e.g. bbc.co.uk or google.com

3) Why are only 3 services running in the VM??  (namely: Plug and Play;   Remote Procedure Call; and    Windows Audio - no wonder I can't ping!)

4) Windows hasn't activated. I'm not sure if I ought to worry or not at this stage in XP's life.  Any ideas?

5) And a supplementary question - Is Workstation Pro the best product?

We really want minimum cost, as there will be very little use of the AutoCAD application

So what steps have I not done?

Or am I worrying unduly and it's all somehow covered by the VM environment ?

- though I'm blowed if I can see HOW VMware can drive this XP machine in its present state.

Hoping some VMWare guru is willing to put me straight

Old_Spilly