VMware Communities
neeks2013
Contributor
Contributor

Why can't I disable the VM Workstation window when entering unity?

I'm a web developer who recently made the switch back to a Debian OS. The only programs I need not offered on my OS are the Adobe CC apps. After a bunch of frustrations of trying RDP and VMWare's unity mode; I decided to stick with unity mode. Now one of the only things that bugs me is the unnecessary program window that remains open when I enter unity mode. Is there anyway to disable this or will VMWare consider making an option to disable in the future? I want a seamless integration of Windows apps, I use "ALT + TAB" to cycle through programs and this window is really getting in the way and also consuming space in my dock.

Screenshot from 2013-07-29 13_40_43.png

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Professor_F
Contributor
Contributor

This seems to be a long-running problem with Unity with no solution and no comment from VMware Smiley Sad

Minimize to Tray while under Unity...

0 Kudos
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

Professor F wrote: and no comment from VMware Smiley Sad

That's not true as mdunn-vmware, a VMware employee, did comment in that thread.  Have a look at: Re: Minimize to Tray while under Unity...

0 Kudos
Professor_F
Contributor
Contributor

It *is* true since mdunn-vmware's comment is not constructive at all and does not therefore count. I absolutely agree with halilgurol's reply in the same thread.

0 Kudos
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

Professor F wrote: It *is* true since mdunn-vmware's comment is not constructive at all and does not therefore count. I absolutely agree with halilgurol's reply in the same thread.