VMware Communities
Dimicus
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Vmware centralization

Hello.

I am not sure what to ask so im sorry if my question is a bit wierd.

At my office we use workstation 7 to test and troubleshoot different version of our system.

As it is now i have 3 vmware machines

1: Windows 7

2.: Windows 2008

3. Windows 2003

So when i recive  a problem with out product i ask what OS they use and if they use windows 7 i start my windows 7 vmware machine.

My next question is what version of our product they use and dependent what they say i install that version and check if i get the same problem as them.

Now i support 3 different system that each have like 4 different versions and they can all be runned on above OS.

During a normal working day i have to install and uninstall different version of our software several times and i have come to a limit and need to do something about it.

Since im not an expert in vmware i came up with this solution in my head.

One PC with some kind of vmware server that holds all my vmware machines example:

vmware 1: Windows 7 with software version 1

vmware 2: Windows 7 with software version 2

vmware 3: Windows 7 with software version 3

vmware 4: windows 2008 with software version 1

etc

etc

Now from my main PC i want to simply connect to this server and make a copy or a clone of the vmware i want so i get it with the correct version.

We are a small office and i just try to look for a way to make things a little faster for us.

Now to my question.

1. its a whole ocean out there with different vmware product some cost alot of money some are free,

What do i need to accomplish what i have described and is there a free version since i already have several workstation licenses.

2. Can this be managed in a better way then what i have described?

BR

Dimicus

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
elgreco81
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Hi,