VMware Communities
BillInPA
Contributor
Contributor

Visual Studio 2010 RC on vm ws 7.0, win7 x64 very slow

I installed visual studio 2010 on a vm workstation 7.0

Base machine is dell precision, win7 x64, 8 gigs ram, very fast box

Gave the vm 1.5 gigs, 2 cores

When building, the ram is around 50%, and cpus are around 50% in task manager/performance

Building a c++ solution with 2 projects, each around 250 .cpp files, takes almost 30 minutes

A vmware XP SP3, vs 2003, same solution, takes around 2 or 3 minutes for a full build

the 2010 takes 20 minutes

looking on visual studio 2010 blogs/etc, everyone is excited about the performance

im feeling a little left out of the party...

I am not a vmware expert - this is my first vmware machine

anyone have any ideas/tips?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Scissor
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Try changing your Guest to 1 vCPU.

Do you have any CPU intensive tasks running on your Host? Are you running more than one Guest at a time?

0 Kudos
BillInPA
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the reply

I originally had it at 1 cpu, changed it to 2 because I hoped that would help

At your suggestion, I put it back to 1, and its no better.

The host is basically idle, no other vm sessions running, so basically that one image has the entire machine

I had my source and build target on a mapped drive into the vm-host

Copied it all into the vm images c: drive, that helped some, but not enough that I would say this is ready to use as a production environment.

Since the whole reason for vmware is to have multiple operating systems, its not practical to duplicate the source in multiple images.

I think next I will try an external drive, which I can mount as a direct device in an image

That way win7 wont see it as a network folder, which raises heck with the win7 filesystem redirection

Between the host being win7 x64, the image being win7 x64, vmware, and vs2010, its have a lot of new technology to coordinate.