VMware Communities
Rawze
Contributor
Contributor

VMware is becoming too unstable for me...

VMware is becoming too unstable for me. Is it for you,...?

Hello all, Rawze here...

I have been using Virtual Machines in one form or another for many, many years. One computer just isn't enough for me, and I am also a big fan of isolating different types of software so that any one machine doesn't get too bogged down. I am not, and never have been, fan of Microsoft, though I ran their products for many years, and know them, all too well. I now use Linux (Ubuntu), and have been for about 3 years now, and will never look back, but like many Linux users, I still have occasional needs for some windows programs. Because of this, I use Virtual Machines with one form of windows or another on them for convenience. I also like to use the LOWEST version of windows possible to run any given needed piece of software, so that puts me running XP for the most part, on my VM's for the few things I do need MS-Windows to run. I have been around computers a long time, and I also have software that is much older, that I still like to run on occasion. I have programs for Windows 95/98, Windows 3.1, and even Windows 2.0, that are just unique to their purpose sometimes, but it is indeed rare to go back that far. VMware has always provided that for me, but I have noticed a trend, at least for me, here lately, that has created more and more problems. I first noticed it a couple years back, when I updated Vmware, then tried to install Windows 3.0/3.1/3.11 on a VM a few weeks later, and found out it was only usable, if I didn't do anything too advanced with the memory allocations, etc. on it. That really sucked, as I was a master of manually allocating memory on that old OS, and was able to achieve, easily, 637k free in the lower non-extended ram, allowing me to run programs that normally needed a re-boot to operate back then. Ok, I can live with that, I will just re-boot into the program, like man