VMware Communities
Mathimino
Contributor
Contributor

VMware Workstation cannot connect to the virtual machine. Vmware Workstation Pro 16

Hello, this is my first time using vmware workstation on this pc. I launched my first vm in order to install ubuntu 20.04 64bit, but the software remains in "not responding" for a while (photo 1) then displays the following error: "VMware Workstation cannot connect to the virtual machine. Make sure that you have the necessary rights to run the program, access all directories used by the program, and access all directories for temporary files. "(photo 2).I have already tried restarting the vmware services but it did not work.
Any idea to help me?
The translation may be incorrect because I used google translate

0 Kudos
10 Replies
wila
Immortal
Immortal

Hi,

First thing to try, with Workstation shut down, remove any .lck folders in the VM and try again.

If that doesn't help, then please have a look and check if VMware workstation creates and updates the vmware.log file in the VM's folder?
If so then try to attach that to a reply here.

--
Wil

| Author of Vimalin. The virtual machine Backup app for VMware Fusion, VMware Workstation and Player |
| More info at vimalin.com | Twitter @wilva
0 Kudos
Wei--Ning
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

I just encountered the same error.

Attached are my log files for you.

This completely blocks my work. Please take a look.

0 Kudos
Wei--Ning
Contributor
Contributor

adding some info:

- I'm on Ubuntu 20 LTS and a 4y old Dell XPS 15 (7th gen intel i7 CPU); VMware has never been an issue in the past year until recently (upgraded to 16)

- I have tried uninstalled `vmware-uninstall` and re-install using the official installer bundle; the issue remains

- I also have a test PC with AMD Ryzen 7 running 20 LTS - I don't have such issues there. I believe the workstation versions are the same (the latest 16 patch version).