VMware Communities
ArnorBld
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare workstation 9.0 multi-display issue

Hi guys,

I have been using VMWare Workstation for the past 5 years and cannot be without it!

Since I upgraded to 9.0 couple of years ago or so, there has been an annoying issue that I have not found any solution to.  I see that others have had similar issue with screensavers and powersettings.  What happens in my case is that if I have a VM extended over both my monitors and I run a program inside the guest that requires UAC elevation, VMWare will revert to the primary monitor only.  This doesn't always happen, about 85-90% of the time.  To restore, I have to click on the "Cycle Multiple Monitors" button twice to restore it to both monitors.  I was previously using 6.x and this did not happen there. 

Any ideas for fixing or testing? 

Best regards,

Arnor Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC   

6 Replies
ArnorBld
Contributor
Contributor

I posted about this just over a year ago:  Workstation 9 and dual monitors

I forgot to add, that I also have a problem if I have multiple VM's running.  If one or more are using both monitors then I cannot access the host monitor from VM's that are NOT using both screens.  I see the host desktop, but it does not get input focus (mouse clicks don't make it through)  I don't know if that is related, but there seem to be some gremlins on my system when dealing with multiple monitors.  Note that I had VMware 9 installed on another computer for a while and it also showed the same symptoms, despite being completely different configuration.

Best regards

Arnor

0 Kudos
Ethan44
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi

Welcome to the communities.

Could you please let us know if Cycle multiple monitors under full screen are enabled or not .

0 Kudos
RogerD7
Contributor
Contributor