VMware Communities
IT_Architect
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

VMWare Workstation 8 and/or Windows XP Mode

Experience Level::  I'm an ESXi expert but know almost nothing about Workstation.  I purchased Workstation 6 and got a free upgrade to 6.5.  I set up one VM of Windows 2000 Server that our accounting is on and the accountant can call into.  I've simply been clicking the VM shortcut button since 2008 to launch the VM.  I've heard of unity, but don't completely understand it.  I also know nothing about XP mode other than what I have seen in an on-line video.  I know it is possible to install both Workstation and Windows XP Mode, but both cannot be active at the same time.

The situation:  I have a new Dell laptop, M6600 w/i7 and Windows 7 64 Pro.  My old laptop has XP Pro 32.  I hae a development environment I use that is 32 bit but also uses some 16 bit utilities.  They do have newer versions of the software, but it is less productive, and the old software generates 32 and 64 bit apps more efficiently, with fewer bugs, and run far faster than my Microsoft .NET languages.  As a result, I maintain approximately 3 million lines of code in this language.  I don't need to tell anyone what it's like to try to maintain current information in two places, and never have what you need with you, so I want to move everything to the new laptop.  I need to be able to do P2V and bring in customer servers to prototype  network changes before rolling them out.  My ESXi boxes are across the  VPN, so I need to do it locally, and my laptop is what I bring to  customers.  The new laptop has an i7 quad with 32 gigs of RAM, 1 1/4 TB of drive space made up of a Crucial M4 512GB SSD, and Seagate Momentus 750, and has eSata 3 and USB 3 ports.  The VMs will be Windows Servers, Unix Servers, and sometimes ESXi with UNIX VMs under it, which I know will be slow under the virtualized ESXi.