VMware Communities
gibsomj
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VM Workstation 11, Windows 7 SP1 and USB 3.0

I am fairly new to VM but am currently trying to connect a USB 3.0 32 GB thumb drive on a Windows 7 SP1 OS(both physical and virtual) using VM Workstation 11.1.2 build-2780323 and whenever I plug in the thumb drive I get a USB device not recognized.  I have found an entry online where someone stated that USB 3.0 is not supported for virtual windows 7.  is this true and if so does anyone know when this support will be added?  I have got to figure that I'm not the only one wanting this.  Any help anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
wila
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Hello gibsomj‌,

Welcome at the VMware Community forums.

Your research is correct.

Windows 7 does not come with USB3 drivers from Microsoft (sometimes also called inbox drivers) and as a result there is no native usb3 support for Windows 7 guests. It's not exactly expected as at the time windows 7 was being sold usb3 was available on the hardware and of course it worked, but the drivers supplied were all 3rd party drivers.

Unfortunately none of those 3rd party drivers will work with the virtual usb3 hardware in your virtual machine, so even if you enable it, there are no drivers that can use it.

Windows 8 (and up) does have inbox usb3 drivers and it works down there.

What can you do besides upgrading? If your hardware is usb2 compatible you might be able to force it to use the usb2 interface by either usng a usb2 cable or usb2 hub between your usb3 device and host.

As for the question on when will it be supported. Basically only VMware knows and unfortunately VMware has a policy not to comment on features that might be supported in the future.