VMware Communities
yclee01
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Upgrading of RAM for installing 64-bit Guest OS over 32-bit Host OS

Hi All,

I am a total newbie to VMWare and I have one curious question to ask. Currently I have an Intel Core i7 920 PC running on Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit with 3GB of triple-channel DDR3 RAM. I just installed VMWare Workstation version 7 on this PC.

Now I understand that Win7 of 32-bit build can only address up to a maximum of 3.4GB RAM logically and not beyond that. My intention here is to upgrade the RAM to 9GB and then install Ubuntu 64-bit version 9.04 over VMWare with 6GB of RAM reserved for Ubuntu. My question then become: would the guest OS(Ubuntu) be able to utilize 6GB of RAM that I am planning to allocate for it since the host OS(Win7), can only address up to 3.4G memory ?

I would like to thank everyone in advance for your help.

Best Regards,

Peter Lee

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
K-MaC
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Hello Peter,

Unfortunately, you will need to have a 64bit host OS in order to do what you wish. The guest OS will only be able to utilize the memory that is presented to it via the host. Is there any particular reason that you have installed Windows 7 32bit instead of 64bit?

Cheers

Kevin

Cheers Kevin

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
K-MaC
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Hello Peter,

Unfortunately, you will need to have a 64bit host OS in order to do what you wish. The guest OS will only be able to utilize the memory that is presented to it via the host. Is there any particular reason that you have installed Windows 7 32bit instead of 64bit?

Cheers

Kevin

Cheers Kevin
0 Kudos
yclee01
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Hi Kevin,