VMware Communities
guynamedghost
Contributor
Contributor

Unique CID mismatch issue. Please help.

Hello gang,

I am new to this forum and here is a bit about myself. I have been working in IT for roughly 10 years. Recently I have embarked on gaining MCITP:Server Administrator certification and am using VMware Workstation to run through the labs and exercises.

However, I find myself in a bit of a scary situation. Basically I moved a team of VM's into a different directory. Three of the four power on, but one VM will not. This VM is the Win Server 2008 DC and contains all of the snapshots from my lab exercises from the past couple months.I believe my actions have resulted in a CID mismatch error, but I do not have enough experience with VMWare Workstation to confidently proceed with the troubleshooting steps outlined in the VMware's article (KB Article: 1007969).

If someone can get this VM to boot from it's current state, or even a snapshot or two previous, that would be wonderful. I just don't want to start from scratch.

If I should be posting this issue to another forum or website entirely, please let me know. Hopefully I have provided enough details to allow someone to share their expertise. Any help is greatly, greatly appreciated.

I am using linked clones to save space on my primary HDD (120 GIG Intel SSD). All of my VM's live within this path:

C:\Users\jeffrey\Documents\virtual machines\

The following VM's are in a team:

C:\Users\jeffrey\Documents\virtual machines\Clone of Windows Server 2008 R2 x64
C:\Users\jeffrey\Documents\virtual machines\Clone of Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 2_server_core.vmwarevm
C:\Users\jeffrey\Documents\virtual machines\Clone of Windows 7_vm_1
C:\Users\jeffrey\Documents\virtual machines\BranchOffice

I wanted to place their parents into a sub directory called "VM Masters"
I moved the following VM's into "C:\Users\jeffrey\Documents\virtual machines\VM Masters"

C:\Users\jeffrey\Documents\virtual machines\Windows 7_vm_1.vmwarevm\