VMware Communities
townsbg
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Unable to install vmware tools on openbsd

I am trying to install vmware tools on freebsd, specifically ghostbsd, and tried following the instructions here however there is nothing showing up in the iso. The only files that are showing up are copyright and license. The folders boot, data, and etc are all blank. I tried selecting the install vmware tools option and loading the ISO C:\Program Files (x86)\VMware\VMware Workstation\freebsd.iso. There is no vmware-freebsd-tools.tar.gz. What am I doing wrong? I'm running vmware workstation 12 on Windows 8.1.

Labels (2)
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
townsbg
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I tried the install vmware tools option again and got the right file however when I tried the install I got that I must insall the compat6x-amd64 package. I tried this but when I got to the pkg_add part it says command not found. I've never used bsd before. How do I do this?

0 Kudos
townsbg
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I found and installed the package from software station. When I tried to install vmware tools again I got this

root@ghostbsd-vm:/tmp/vmware-tools-distrib # ./vmware-install.pl

A previous installation of VMware Tools has been detected.

The previous installation was made by the tar installer (version 4).

Keeping the tar4 installer database format.

You have a version of VMware Tools installed.  Continuing this install will

first uninstall the currently installed version.  Do you wish to continue?

(yes/no) [yes]

Uninstalling the tar installation of VMware Tools.

Stopping services for VMware Tools

Skipping VMware Tools services shutdown on the host:               done

The removal of VMware Tools 10.0.10 build-4301679 for FreeBSD completed

successfully.

Installing VMware Tools.

In which directory do you want to install the binary files?

[/usr/local/bin]

In which directory do you want to install the startup script?

[/usr/local/etc/rc.d]