VMware Communities
MohK
Contributor
Contributor

Unable to create VM after going through Wizzard.

Hi guys

Im fairly new to Vmware.. So please bare with me

Iv installed the latest(6.5) Vm Workstation on my PC (Vista X64 with SP1, c2d e6550, 4gb ram)

Now the problem is when i click "finish" after configuring the the "New Virtual Machine Wizzard" nothings happens! It just goes back to the main screen(Vm workstation)

Im pretty sure its meant to say "VM created succesfully" or something and start the VM.

It does however create the files in the directory i selected. If i do click on them, Vm will open but nothing will happen

Im at my wits end on this. Iv tried reinstalling with no success.

Im trying to run a Xp Vm and Linux

Regards.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
vmroyale
Immortal
Immortal

Hello and welcome to the forums.

It sounds like what you have done is simply create the virtual machine. Choosing the options in the wizard will build the virtual machine (think of it as building a physical computer). Just like if you built a physical machine from parts, you will need to install the OS on the virtual machine you created. Insert your boot media or iso image, and then use the Settings to connect the cd-rom drive to the media. Power up the virtual machine and the setup wizard for the OS should start up.

Good Luck!

Brian Atkinson | vExpert | VMTN Moderator | Author of "VCP5-DCV VMware Certified Professional-Data Center Virtualization on vSphere 5.5 Study Guide: VCP-550" | @vmroyale | http://vmroyale.com
0 Kudos
MohK
Contributor
Contributor

HI, Thanks for the speedy response.

In the wizzard it asks me for the Iso or my cd which i have inserted.

How do i start up that virtual machine ? it is not lisetd anywhere. Not even on the right task pane of VM ware. All i have is the home tab and sidebar after creating a vm

Something is not right here. As you can see with Vm1.. When i press finish it just goes back to the menu (VM2)

Regards

0 Kudos
RDPetruska
Leadership