VMware Communities
kitch2k
Contributor
Contributor

Problems joining a domain

Hi Everyone,

I am a vmware newbie so please excuse the following question... It's going to seem like a DNS problem at first but I am pretty sure it's a problem with how I have my networking set up in VMWare workstation.

I currently have VMWare Workstation 6.5 with two virtual machines. One is a Windows Server 2003 R2. The other is Windows XP professional. I have AD and DNS set up on the server which is the primary domain controller with a domain of testcompany.local. When I try to join my XP virtual machine to the testcompany.local domain I get the following error message:

Note: This information is intended for a network administrator. If you are not your network's administrator, notify the administrator that you received this information, which has been recorded in the file C:\WINDOWS\debug\dcdiag.txt.

DNS was successfully queried for the service location (SRV) resource record used to locate a domain controller for domain testcompany.local:

The query was for the SRV record for ldap.tcp.dc._msdcs.testcompany.local

The following domain controllers were identified by the query:

testsrv01.testcompany.local

Common causes of this error include:

- Host (A) records that map the name of the domain controller to its IP addresses are missing or contain incorrect addresses.

- Domain controllers registered in DNS are not connected to the network or are not running.

For information about correcting this problem, click Help.

I only have one network card installed on the physical machine and Both VM's are using bridged networking with statically assigned addresses. I can ping by both hostname and IP from client-server and server-client. I am very confident that I have DNS set up correctly as I have set it up in the real world many times.

Is there something that needs to be done from a virtual machine perspective to get the XP VM to join my domain?

Thank you,

Chris

0 Kudos
3 Replies
AWo