VMware Communities
poetandi
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Practical requirements

Hello,

I'm new and quite eager to get going with a VMware Workstation solution. My question:

I am a Visual Studio developer presently running 4 machines via a KVM switch (Fedora Linux, Windows 2003 Standard Server, Plain XP Pro for installation test and a XP Pro for development.

I just discovered VMware solution today (hmm, where were I for all those years? coding I guess :>)

I'm getting a new computer with Intel Quad Core Q6600 with 4GB DDR2-800 RAM and 2 500GB SATA2 drives and two 24" LG monitors (for dual monitor arrangement).

Can I pack all those four computers into this new system? Would 4GB RAM is adequate? What's about performance? I wanted a new system to shorten the delay with Visual Studio 2008. Would it slow down much?

Any suggestion, idea is quite welcomed and appreciated

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
louyo
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

I am running VMWare WS 6.02 on a new Quad X5365 with 4 GB RAM and running a Linux 64Bit host. You should have no problems, depending on how much RAM you give each VM. I usually give W2K 256 MB, XP 512MB, W2003 512MB (Sharepoint server, 1GB), and Vista, with VS2008, 1GB. I typically run 2-3 VM's at a time. I am running VS2008 in a Vista VM with 1GB of RAM and compile times seem faster than a 2Ghz laptop with Core 2 duo, running native.I have not benchmarked.

error messages pop up about the same Smiley Happy