VMware Communities
Gimper482011101
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Please assist me in picking a host OS.

I realize it is almost a religion what people choose as their host os for vmware workstation.  So I will give as much detail as I can about my situation and maybe this knowledgable community can help me pick a good build.

So here is my situation.

I want to be able to run esxi cluster on a laptop within vmware workstation then within that cluster windows 08 r2, linux (several distros both server and desktop), windows 7, windows xp, .   I realize this is a bit aggressive so I setup the hardware as folllows:

2760qm (quad core 2.4 ghz)

16gb ram (to start I will up to 32 shortly)

120gb ssd drive

1gb ethernet.

All on a thinkpad w520 laptop. 

So on to the requirements.

I want a host os with low resource overhead and small disk footprint, stability, and good performance.   I am very familiar with windows of all flavors.  I am a novice at linux and a total noob at BSD.  I am comfortable building on any platform as I learn fast. 

So my number one preference would be stability.  Number two would be performance.  Number 3 is low disk footprint (due to small ssd), Number 4 ease of use..   So there you have it.  I have read all the searches I have come across and they all appear to be pre2010 and vary wildly in opinions.  So I am asking this same question in a more modern realm in that laptops can now support some very nice hardware configurations.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
continuum
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

if you have the choice between XP 64 and Windows 7 - pick XP 64. It will  outrun Windows 7 with out any effort.
Even better 2003 64.
In my experience the worst choice is Win 2008 R2 - it has the most problems.

Background: here at home I run win 7 - 64, 2008 R2 and 2003 32 Enterprise in dualboot on a 8 Gb RAM host
I compare performance directly since version 6.5