VMware Communities
Bladestorm1412
Contributor
Contributor

Only 1 out of 3 vmnet interfaces work

Hi Everyone,

I am quite new to VMware so apologies if this is a dumb question/query!

I am currently using VMware Workstation Pro 15 for Palo Alto firewall practice a new networking job I was recently offered. CBT Nuggets Palo Alto videos walked me through how to configure additional vmnet interfaces and pair them up with the firewall interfaces. It started off well with 2 bridged vmnet interfaced for firewall management and WAN port and 3 host-only vmnet interfaces specifying the IP and subnet and disabling DHCP for each host-only interface.

I have the Palo Alto firewall using the vmnet1-3 interfaces to simulate 3 networks 10.1.1.0/24, 10.2.2.0/24 and 10.3.3.0/24. The Win7 vm I connected to vmnet1 worked flawlessly but any combination of device and vmnet2/3 interface I use just gets the message 'Unidentified network No internet connection' or if it's a router it won't communicate with anything. I have tippled checked the IP addresses on the vmnet interfaces, vm machine and Palo Alto firewall and they are all correct. I changed the Win7 vm interface from vmnet2 to vmnet1 and changed the IP address to be in 10.1.1.0/24 and the device then gets internet just fine. I have also checked the Palo Alto firewall zones and policies and it's all correct.

Can someone please help? Many thanks in advance!

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
Bladestorm1412
Contributor
Contributor

I forgot to mention that I was originally using my PC's WiFi for internet but I saw VMware have issues with that so I am now using Ethernet but the issue still persists.

0 Kudos
Bladestorm1412
Contributor
Contributor