VMware Communities
Sigurd4Warp
Contributor
Contributor

No Soundblaster in VM Ware Workstation 12?

Hi,

I am new to VMware, have some experience with Virtualization from Virtual PC, Virtualbox and Hypervisor.

I just purchased the VM Ware Workstation 12.

I try do install differnet versions of OS/2 (eComStation, ArcaOS) and everything works fine - except of one Thing: I can not get Sound to work. I guess I will have the same Problem once I want to install the old versions of Windows (3.11, 95, 98...)

My Hostsystem is a Mircosoft Surface Pro 4 i7 16 GB RAM.

Trying to get informations about the Soundadapter I found something about a Soundblaster Support. But that document reffered to VM Ware 3. Is it still possible to add Soundblaster 16 Support to VM Ware and how can this be done?

Tried to add a Soundcard to the VM but there is no Option for "Soundblaster" only the "Lautsprecher Realtek High Definition" are available, those are the ones inbuild in the Surface Pro 4.

Help is very appriciated as this is the only issue I have so far!

Thanks in Advance

Sigurd

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Sigurd4Warp
Contributor
Contributor

I am running Windows 10 Pro 1703 as Host OS.

Virtuell47.png

This is, by the way, what ArcaOS5, the new OS/2, Looks like in VM Pro 12.5 Smiley Wink:smileycool:

0 Kudos
wila
Immortal
Immortal

Hi,

Nice guest OS.

You will probably have to edit the .vmx file by hand to get such an old soundcard in the configuration.

Look at:

vmx-sound at sanbarrow.com

and change (or add if not already there)

sound.virtualDev = sb16

Note that you have to do this with your Virtual Machine shut down and VMware Workstation closed.

Use a plain text editor such as notepad.

Hope this helps,

--

Wil

| Author of Vimalin. The virtual machine Backup app for VMware Fusion, VMware Workstation and Player |
| More info at vimalin.com | Twitter @wilva
0 Kudos
dariusd
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi Sigurd,