VMware Communities
CodeBSI
Contributor
Contributor

Need help with Internet Connection Sharing

Hello

I am studying for the Microsoft 70-642 exam. Currently I am studying a chapter titled "Connecting To Networks". The work through section of the book walks through the steps of using ICS to allow allow other computers to use the internet connection of one computer. All of my virtual machines are Windows Server 2008 R2. I have one machine with two network adapters and the others have one network adapter. I've been experimenting with VM0, VM1 and VM8. The insturctions in the workbook say to set the properties of the network adapter connected to the the internet or outside of the network to allow other computers to share it's connection: Right click, properties, allow others to share this connection etc. I've followed the steps using VM0 and VM8 on the machine that has two network adapters. The instructions say that the other computers on the network that is not connected to the network will communicate with the network adapter on the machine that has two network adapters and is on the same network (not connected to the internet) to connect to the internet.

I have been unable to get the other computers on the network that is not connected to the internet to use the shared setting of the network connected to the internet. I've tried everything I know. I've run out of ideas and have been unable to work through the walk through.

Any help would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
satya1
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

CodeBSI wrote:

Hello