VMware Communities
JChief
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Need help choosing correct setting in Virtual Network Editor

This is my first time using VMs period. What I am doing is setting up an MCSE lab to following some CBT courses I purchased. I have created a team of three virtual machines - two of them running WIndows Server 2003 and the other WIndows XP. The lab wants me to use the following TCP/IP settings for the three machines (Server1, Server11, and XP1)

Server1:

192.168. 1.201

Server 11: 192.168.1.211 (same gateway and subnet as Server1)

XP1: 192.168.1.1 (same for gateway and subnet as Server1)

Primary DNS is set to 192.168.1.201 (Server1 is DNS Server).

VMWorkstation by default allowed me to ping the two servers just fine without any additional configuration. My problem is when I try to set DNS Forwarder on Server1. No matter what IP address for DNS server I plug in I can't get my XP box to get out to the Internet. I know it's a problem with my Virtual Network settings I am certain. Problem is I don't know where to begin. Can someone help point me in the right direction?

THANK YOU!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AWo
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

General things:

You can't use IP address ranges which are used somewhere else and which the host might be able to see.

Enter "ipconfig /all" on the host and look at the VMnet8 adapter. Let's assume you see a 192.168.30.1 there. That means your VMnet8 network address is 192.168.30.0/24 (24 = subnet mask, displayed as 255.255.255.0).

Your DNS and gateway for the virtual systems would be 192.168.30.2.

You can verify this in the Virtual Network Editor under the NAT tab.

To change the VMnet8 network address range you have to use the Virtual Network Editor.

1. Go to "Host Virtual Network Mapping"

2. Click on the ">" next to VMnet8 and choose "Subnet"