VMware Communities
boomer2
Contributor
Contributor

Multiply VM sharing CD rom

For our development network, we would like to load multiple virtual machine workstations on "one" physical box. If I have 3 VMworkstations loaded on "one" physical pc, can all three vm share the same physical CD rom player? If so, what must be done, if anything, for all three VM to be able to access it? Thank you in advance.

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Peter_vm
Immortal
Immortal

In that situation create ISO repository of your CD's (dedicated folder on host drive) and use ISO's exclusively.

0 Kudos
boomer2
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks Peter_VM for the reply. I am not sure what you mean by ISO repository and how to use ISO's exclusively. Can you lay out some instruction on how to do this. I am new to WM workstation. Much appreciated.

0 Kudos
Peter_vm
Immortal
Immortal

For every CD that I use in virtual environment, I create ISO first.

There are many ways, tools, to do that: Nero, PowerISO, WinImage,.....

Then I put all of those ISO's in my host D:\ISOs. This is my ISO "repository".

Whenever virtual machine needs to use CD-ROM, I point it to appropriate ISO file (Connection option) and put checkmark on "Connected".

I do not leave any of my guests pointing to a physical host CD-ROM drive. That is what I meant by "exclusively".

0 Kudos
boomer2
Contributor
Contributor

I am still confused, -- Does this mean for every new material (cd data) I place in my CD ROM I will need to create a new ISO and then copy it to a shared folder on a shared drive? For testing purposes, can all 3 VMware workstations on the same physical box use the same CD ROM drive? Or does the first one creates a lockfile on the drive?

0 Kudos
Peter_vm
Immortal
Immortal

I am still confused, -- Does this mean for every new material (cd data) I place in my CD ROM I will need to create a new ISO and then copy it to a shared folder on a shared drive?

That is the best practise.