VMware Communities
ELMOALSO
Contributor
Contributor

Multiple Smaller VMs or One Larger VM for performance

Is there a general guideline for:

You have 20 apps running concurrently. They are all related. Sometimes (every few seconds) there is significant communication between them. You have a single Dell 740, Silver CPU and a slim 32GB memory an a single 1 TB disk.

Is it better to run all the apps on a single large VM or spread the load over multiple smaller VMs. Your resources (the host) remain constant so are you losing if you spread the apps over multiple VMs? You have the same apps work load and you have added the overhead of additional VMs and communications if you split the workload.

I'm new to VMware but about 8 years experience with VirtualBox

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
wila
Immortal
Immortal

Hi,

Obviously additional VMs are going to add overhead.
As you say "those applications communicate with each other", for example communicating via the (virtual) network won't be as fast as communicating on localhost.

If splitting up makes sense depends on workload (for example is it slow in one VM already?) and your goals.

On the one hand, multiple VMs means additional overhead on maintenance.
On the other hand, being able to keep things separated also means that it decouples the dependencies.
Eg. messing up a database VM means that you can replace the database VM with a backup and not worry about the rest of the stack, or take a snapshot of that ONE VM so you can roll back only that one (again great with databases when you are testing).