VMware Communities
hankn
Contributor
Contributor

Looking for automated A/V run in virtualized sandbox

Since I am a newbie here, please accept my apologies if this has been covered already or is

not in the proper forum.

I am looking to set up a number of VMwares where each will run a different A/V like Kaspersky or

Bitdefender or ClamAV. But I will not be asking the VM to run the A/V engine on the injected malware but

rather I want to "run" (execute) the malware in this VM sandbox and see what the A/V engine says has happened.

I would run 5 VMs in parallel, each with its own A/V engine and inject the malware and let it execute and would want

to extract the A/V logs to see what "bad" has happened. All automated via a CLI.

Has anyone done something similar? What API would I need? Which VMware platform should I be focusing on

to accomplish this? Any suggestions and ideas welcome.

Thanks!

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

You probably want to have isolated VMs if you want to test malware inside of them.

That means you should not install vmware-tools - which means you also block existing apis from running correctly.

Looks like you need some custom fiddling with batchs and / or autoit

0 Kudos
Chayak
Contributor
Contributor

Ok, first off you're going about it the wrong way. Yes you should have multiple VMs with different A/V running to scan the file and see if any detect it. If you want to see what happens you're going to have to make a VM that's designed to run malware and have it on a private network with a linux host with some tools installed like netcat, ircd, etc.