VMware Communities
justamal
Contributor
Contributor

Loading DOS ODI Driver & TCPIP Stack

I have a DOS legacy application(C++ program) and a Windows XP(C++ program) applications, I want these applications to be communicated using TCPIP Stack. I purchased a TCPIP Stack from Novell vendor. To run TCPIP Protocol Stack(TCPIP.exe) program in DOS, I would need the ODI Driver of the Ethernet board to be installed and loaded. The computer I have has Broadcom NetXtreme® 57XX Ethernet board. I have problem in loading the ODI Driver and after TCPIP Stack.

I have created MS-DOS6.2 virtual machine in VMWARE. And when I load the Broadcom NetXtreme® 57XX ODI Driver, I get an error saying “Adaptor not initialized”. I am new to installing and configuring the device drivers in DOS. Please guide me how do I need to proceed to install the compatible ODI Driver and the TCPIP stack.

your answers would be great help for me.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
nick_couchman
Immortal
Immortal

In your guest machine you should load the driver of the VIRTUAL network adapter, not the PHYSICAL network adapter. VMware does NOT pass your physical adapter through to the guest - it emulates a virtual switch and a virtual Ethernet adapter and connects the virtual switch and virtual ethernet adapter to the physical ethernet adapter (if you're using bridged networking). You need to load ODI/NDIS or packet drivers for the virtual network device - the AMD PCNet32 adapter.

0 Kudos
RDPetruska
Leadership
Leadership

Do a search on this forum - I posted quite a while back the network config files for a DOS VM.

As this topic comes up from time to time, I may have to dig this info up and post it on my website. Smiley Wink

Message was edited by:

RDPetruska

0 Kudos
lfrench
Contributor
Contributor

I agree that you want to use the virtual adpater's driver, but the AMD PCNet32 adapter is for Workstation 5. In version 6, I believe it's supposed to be the Intel Pro 1000 driver.