VMware Communities
nunezjos
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Install VMware Tools menu is grayed in VMware workstation 15.1.0, installed on Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 7.4 (Maipo)

Hello,

I'm new to VMware and I'm having problems while trying to mount a shared drive from inside a guest VM. It turns out I need VMware tools enabled but for some reason it is not enabled.

I did the installation using 'VMware-Workstation-Full-15.1.0-13591040.x86_64.bundle' and all the documentation I see on the Internet talks about mounting a CDROM which I don't have.

There is a way to troubleshoot this issue? So far logs (/var/log/vmware/vmware-usbarb-*.log) are clean and the installation didn't have any errors.

I can provide more details if necessary.

Thanks in advance.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RDPetruska
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Well, if the Linux.iso image is present, then you can manually install it.  Just edit the CD-ROM settings and select "Image File", and browse to the Linux.iso image.  Check the connected box.  Then in the guest, run the setup steps in the Guest OS Guide/manual.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Was it helpful? Let us know by completing this short survey here.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
RDPetruska
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

You mount the VMware Tools installation CD-images to the guest VM's CD-ROM drive per the instructions.  What you are mounting are ISO images, which should be included in your Workstation installation (or downloaded when you first choose that family of guest in the tools install menu).  Workstation has not been available on a physical CD/DVD since probably version 3, or perhaps 5 at the latest.

0 Kudos
nunezjos
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Hello RDPetruska,