VMware Communities
Fiser
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

How to install VMware Tools on Ubuntu 9.10 guest?

Hello!

I have VMware 6.5.3 for Windows. I installed Ubuntu 9.10 32 bit and I don't know how to install tools inside Linux guest. In Windows guest that is a snap, but here look like more complicated. Can someone help me with step by step tutorial how to install this on Ubuntu 9.10? I'm newbie here.

When I click button to install tools I just get open File Browser with file .txt, rpm and gz file. Any file I click I cannot run installer. Please for help!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Student_Driver
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

It's a bit more complicated because every OS has a kernel (everything revolves around that), and in Linux you can have varying kernel versions. So, the shell script (files that end in .sh) will compile all the binaries against what you have. I believe that version of Ubuntu has the kernel headers with it, so what you would do is:

1. Go to places, downloads (the top menu bar on the desktop)

2. Find your gz file, right click and select extract here (I normally do this from the command line using tar -zxvf, but this should work too)

3. Open that directory, right click on the vmware-install.sh file, and select "execute as program" (this way you can kick it off)

4. Open a terminal (command prompt), and cd to that directory (should be cd Downloads/vmware-tools-distrib)

5. Type sudo ./vmware-install.sh

6. Enter your password when prompted, then go with the defaults and you should be set. Make sure to run the config script (it will ask you if you want to, and you do, but if you mess that part up you can run it later so no biggie) and then log off and log back in. You shouldn't need to reboot, and everything should work immediately.