VMware Communities
GPGVM
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Host-Only Network Setup Help

Hello,

I am a developer (i.e. basic networking knowledge) trying to setup a host-only private vm network. I installed vm_wkstn8 on a clean install as the host.

I then created two W2k8 R2 vm's. One to be the DC (we'll call it DC) and the other a web server (WebSrvr).

On the host using Virtual Network Editor I removed the VMnet8 network. I then changed the VMnet1 to 192.168.109.1 / class c mask and turned of dhcp.

In the adapter stack I removed (unchecked) VMware bridge protocol an IPv6. In the IPv4 config it took the 192.168.109.1 & class c from the Virt. Net.Editor and I left the dns entries blank.

On the Vm's I changed them to 192.168.109.X. (110 for DC & 115 for WebSrvr) with class c mask. I also set them up with dns and gateway pointing to 192.168.109.1. I disabled IPv6 on the vm adapter stacks. I can from either vm ping 192.168.109.1 which makes sense that is the virtual adapter on the host that is acting as gateway to vm's and connection for host to vm network right....apparently not. I can NOT ping from host back to 110 (DC) or 115 (WebSrvr) vm's??

So I look at another box under my desk and it shows to have the Vm's point to X.X.X.2 for gateway and DNS. HUH?? Where did that get determined. So I change my vm's to gateway and dns to 192.168.109.2 still no go.

So I am stumped. My vm's can communicate to the host. The vm's can't communicate (ping) each other and the host can't talk to any of the vm's.

What I would like to do is setup a simple no host private network. I want my machines on that network to be able to communicate with each other.Join the domain etc. Network access from the no host machines to corporate network / internet would be nice but NOT required. Perhap I am off but I thought that the machines ought to be able to see each other on the no-host network.

TIA for any articles / explanations off what I am doing wrong.

JB

0 Kudos
1 Solution