VMware Communities
just2Me
Contributor
Contributor

Gust OS XP unable to connect to the Internet

I have installed the VMware Workstation 6.5 on Windows 7 beta. The guest OS is Windows XP 32bit. I'm very new to virtualization. My guest OS is unable to access the Internet. The DHCP tab has VMnet1 with Subnet 192.168.29.0 Netmask 255.255.255.0 and VMnet8 with Subnet 192.168.15.0 Netmask 255.255.255.0 and the Service status started. The NAT tab VMnet host is set to use VMnet1 and Gateway IP address is grayed out with 192.168.129.2 and Service status started too.

Any help in getting this to work is much appreciated.

0 Kudos
39 Replies
Mokk
Contributor
Contributor

Hi ,

First you have to check how is configured your VM's network adapters .

is it in bridged mode? in nat mode? in host-only ?

0 Kudos
mikelane
Expert
Expert

Does Windows7 have an exception for Workstation in the firewall?

0 Kudos
just2Me
Contributor
Contributor

Yes. Under Windows 7 Firewall, the VMware Authd is set to allow private and public. And I don't think it matters because I did try turned the firewall off and still unable to access the Internet.

0 Kudos
just2Me
Contributor
Contributor

What mode and setting should I be using? I thought I was using NAT but it does not work.

0 Kudos
just2Me
Contributor
Contributor

I did look at the pdf manual but there is very little about setting up NAT. I've checked the guest network connection status and it says connected. I don't know where else to check.

0 Kudos
just2Me
Contributor
Contributor

Here's what I've found so far. From the guest OS, I can ping the VMnet8 virtual adapter card but not VMnet1. From the guest OS, I can't ping the host OS IP address either.

0 Kudos
just2Me
Contributor
Contributor

Okay, here's another weird thing. From the Guest OS, I can ping google.com or any Internet site but when viewing through the IE browser, it does not display the site. Any suggestion?

0 Kudos
mikelane
Expert
Expert