VMware Communities
ASEyeV2
Contributor
Contributor

Guest OS getting IP from unknown DHCP Server

First of all, hello!
My first post, i hope i am asking my quastion well heh.

So guys...
Im currently a IT student, at my school i am currently working with virtualization.
Before our teacher gave us the jobs that we had to do inside the VM we could choose either VMWare or VirtualBox

I used VMWare obviously, since i used it before it was was excelent!

im gonna write my problem but before i do that please keep in mind that i MUST be using NAT, im not allowed to use Bridge (believe me if i was allowed to use this i would not be here today)

But now my problem...
one of the Guest systems is getting a IP adress from a unknown DHCP Server. while i really thought it would get it from anohter guest server that is actually running the DHCP Server (Windows server 2012)

the IP that the guest client gets is the following
the default gateway is 192.168.30.1 (odd)

when i lookup in arp -a  i see that its linked with 00-AC-E5-14-E2-D0 (not the MAC of the guest itself, also not the MAC of the windows 2012 Server guest, and not my host either! so what the hell right?)

Some  information about the virutal network:

• Once again, using NAT
  • DHCP is DISABLED
  • Connect a host virtual adapter to this network is checked
  • Subnet is 192.168.140.0, mask 255.255.255.0
  • Gateway is 192.168.140.2
  • Auto-get DNS Servers from host

Some server information:

• IP is set as 192.168.140.100
    The Scope is set as 192.168.140.110 to 192.168.140.120
  • Default gateway is setup was 192.168.140.2
  • subnet 255.255.255.0
  • Primary DNS set to localhost
  • Secondary DNS set to 192.168.140.2
  • Internet access WORKS!

And here is my setup

2 Systems running

• Windows Server 2012
  • Windows 10

Windows Server 2012

• Running DHCP Server
  • Running DNS Server
  • Running ADDS
  • And some few extra features..

Windows 10

• Noting installed yet