VMware Communities
DigitalDude
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Guest OS access to PCI and PCIe hardware?

Hello, I've lurked and contributed to many forums; but, this is my first time on VMware Communities. From what I've seen, there's a lot of great support, from a lot of knowledgeable folks, here. So, I'm looking forward to participating.

I'm planning on installing VMware Workstation, have scoured the Knowledge Base and Communities, but am unable to find answers to some of my questions.

I run digital audio workstation (DAW) and related software, under WinXP, on an AMD 64 X2 4800+ machine, equipped with 2GB RAM. I also beta-test for a company that produces digital audio plugins. Up to this point, I've been running a multiboot system, with separate partitions of WinXP for digital audio work, beta-testing, and general use. Needless to say, it's a pain in the butt rebooting between partitions!

Under VMware Workstation, I'd like to run virtual versions of the WinXP DAW OS; WinXP DAW beta-test OS; WinXP general use OS; and a couple Linux distros. One of the biggest potential hurdles, however, is my DAW software uses a PCIe digital audio I/O card. My questions are:

Will a guest WinXP OS be able to access the PCIe digital I/O card through VMware?

If so, does the host OS have to support the PCIe card? (drivers are only available for Windows; however, I'd like to use Linux (Ubuntu) as the host OS)

Will a single, licensed version of WinXP run in multiple guest machines, or will each guest need it's own license to function?

If I can run multiple WinXP guests, under one license, and access my PCIe digital I/O card, I'd like to go with as lean, but still functional, host OS as

possible. In that regard, for a host under VMware Workstation, what are the advantages and disadvantages of:

Linux 32-bit

Linux 64-bit

Win2K

WinXP 32-bit

Vista 32-bit

Vista 64-bit

Thanks in advance for your time and consideration!