VMware Communities
mclarkson78
Contributor
Contributor

Fit Guest Now greyed out and autofit doesn't work - Workstation 12.5 on Win 10 with Fedora 24 guest

Preface: I'm a Red Hat Certified Architect. The only reason I'm using Windows 10 as a host at all is the current contract I'm working requires it. I need Linux for the tools I do actual work with. I sprung for Workstation Pro because the company doesn't allow VirtualBox on their approved software list and I figured VMWare Pro was professional grade desktop virtualization with professional grade support. Silly me, thinking an enterprise virtualization company that got their start virtualizing the desktop would get virtualization right.

I'm running WS Pro 12.5 on a Windows 10 machine, both fully updated as of today. I installed a Fedora 24 guest, then added the VMWare Tools. They are installed and running. When I log in the desktop resizes to the window, whatever size it is. Then it never resizes again. Free VirtualBox can do this trick, but the VMWare Workstation Pro I dumped $250 into can't. The Linux virtualization tools can do this. VMWare can't. I read about Unity mode. That would work for me. Then I found out VMWare doesn't care about its corporate users who have to work with Windows and Linux on the same machine so they dumped Unity support for the group it made the most sense for, Linux users. Because who better to crap on than the people who keep your company afloat, pro users.

So I went to open a support case. This $250 software doesn't come with support. Are you kidding me? Not even email support?