VMware Communities
Sergej_Betcher
Contributor
Contributor

Does WMvare Workstation Pro spy on you during using a guest?

Hello I am new in the virtualization,

I have Ubuntu 20.04 on my PC, and I always sometimes need windows Apps, so I decided to buy Workstation Pro for Linux this is relay expensive!

But it offers the snapshot possibility and the audio quality in supported devices like sound over forwarded bluetooth dongles whit a Bluetooth headset is much better in sound quality than in virtualbox from Oracle.

But can some one explain me why Vmware is spying ?

Look this video that I done, for showing. I dint understand whats happened and why vmware wants copy of each file that I create inside the guest ? Where the files are transferred to ?

Video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFCtL1-MhZ4

also attached in this post

Any ideas?

With best Regards newbie Sergej

0 Kudos
5 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

@Sergej_Betcher 

Moderator: Please try and create threads in the area for the product used - moved to Workstation Pro Discussions, nothing to do with AppDefense.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
0 Kudos
ender_
Expert
Expert

The log file you showed is used for debugging; I think you can disable it through VM Settings → Options → Advanced - try setting "Gather debugging information" to None.