VMware Communities
Cburk35goal
Contributor
Contributor

Difficulty Connecting Two Virtual Machines

Forgive me if this question sound ignorent. I am new to virtualazation and do not Know how to get my two VM's to see and communicate with each other. I have never used virtual machines before.

I am taking a course on windows server 2008 and have been instructed to use two virtual machines in the virtual lab enviorment. I have a home network that has a DHCP server for the non lab enviorment and for my host system running the lab. I have statically assigned the NIC of my host system an IP address per my instructors instructions. One VM is designated as the classroon server that runs a DHCP server for the lab and is a domain controller. The student server should be able to be joined to the domain but cannot see the domain controller. I have statically assigned a an IP on the Domain Controller but the Student server where all the labs are supposted to be performed from, cannot find the domain controller when I try to join the student server to the domain.

Virtualization is new to me and it is unclear to me what needs to be changed so that the Server DC sees the classroom server and Vice Versa. I am using VM Ware Workstation 6.5.3 Build 185404

Both VM's are able to get to the internet., cannot see each other. What am I doing wrong and what needs to be changed so that I can Join the student server to the DC hosting the domain? I have never used VMware Workstation. The reason I got it was because my work uses vmware products, and because my instructor said he uses VMware workstation. The following is the ip config of my laptop (My IP is statically assigned):I could not insert the email i sent to my instructor so please se the attachment for the full explanation of my problem. Any hepl would be apreciated.

0 Kudos
11 Replies
AWo
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the forums!