VMware Communities
scottmay
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Client machines freeze momentarily but regularly - Ubuntu 14.10 x64 host machine, Linux and Windows clients

Hi.  I've been using Workstation for a great many years so I would say I have my expectations set reasonably.

My main desktop machine:

-  Intel i7 (4950 I think) processor, 16G memory, Samsung 850 Pro SSD, Ubuntu 14.10 x64 operating system, VMWare Workstation 11.1

It runs really well, but my client machines, be they Windows 7 Enterprise or Ubuntu 14.04 LTS frequently "stutter" in use.  When the stuttering is going on, the host machine is showing relatively high CPU on vmware-vmx at 15 to 20 according to 'top'.  The stuttering might happen every minute or two, for maybe 5 to 10 seconds at a time.  It's annoying, but when I'm using CAD software in the client machine it's downright dangerous as short cut keys get missed, either partially or entirely, and generally bad things happen.

What can I monitor or try to stop this stuttering?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
scottmay
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I'm going to call this solved - finally.  I thought I was going to have to keep using Virtual Box forever - a sad prospect.  This problem persisted into Version 12 Pro as well.

I can't believe I'm the only one having this problem - especially when its's happening on both machines - 2 for 2.  Actually I found another having this problem:

VMware workstation 11 on Ubuntu 15.04 high cpu utilization solved

VMware 11 workstation on Ubuntu with windows guests freezes from time to time with very high cpu utilization. The process vmware-vmx and khugepaged get 100% cpu time for a couple of seconds. The khugepaged is the process that configures the transparent hugepages. When i disable the transparent hugepages windows guest run without freezes again. To disable it on every operating system start up i put in /etc/rc.local
##################