VMware Communities
behealed
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Can the "VMware" bios splash screen be changed?

As a developer, I know it's a deeply disturbing question when someone asks if your splash screen can be changed. But before I unload my long and complicated (but fairly legitimate) reason for why I'm asking this question... is it even possible? I'm using VMWare Workstation Player 15.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
wila
Immortal
Immortal

Hi,

Not AFAIK.

If you change this then I think VMware legal will want to have a word with you too, they generally are very protective of their logo branding.

--

Wil

| Author of Vimalin. The virtual machine Backup app for VMware Fusion, VMware Workstation and Player |
| More info at vimalin.com | Twitter @wilva
0 Kudos
behealed
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I found some ROM files in one of the vmware folders that appear to be bios files not just for the bios but maybe also for the devices such as VGA.ROM which might be the display device. I'm excited to see these files. Now I don't really care about changing the splash screen, now my new question is, can these ROM files be opened or edited? I'm particularly interested in the VGA.ROM file, if that is the virtual graphics card bios of some sort. I've been trying for days to make some changes to display drivers on my VM and being able to modify that rom file might be the thing I've been missing.

0 Kudos
wila
Immortal
Immortal

Hi,

Probably, yes, although I do not see a vmx option for it over at: sanbarrow.com

I'm a bit doubtful on what you can do by editing the rom section, it is not exactly for the faint of heart.

What are you trying to achieve?

--

Wil

| Author of Vimalin. The virtual machine Backup app for VMware Fusion, VMware Workstation and Player |
| More info at vimalin.com | Twitter @wilva
0 Kudos
continuum
Immortal
Immortal