VMware Communities
senglory
Contributor
Contributor

Can't get access to VMDK-based NTFS drive mapped on my host.

I have a VMDK file on my host machine and I need to get access to its files. For doing that I mapped this file as a drive on this machine, but every time I try to enter "DOcuments" folder on that drive I get "Access denied" message. I'm a local admin on that host machine. How can I get access (even in read-only mode) to these files?

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
13 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Which guest OS do you have on the .vmdk file? In case of e.g. Windows 7 you may access "Users" instead of "Documents and Settings".

André

0 Kudos
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

Make a backup copy of the .vmdk before doing anything.  (All .vmdk files that comprise the virtual hard disk!)

Assuming there is no damage to the MFT and it is only a permissions issue then in a Windows environment sometimes the only way in is to take Ownership of the Parent Level Folder and propagate ownership to all files and folders within.

Also a trick I used with Windows Physical Machines was to boot with a Linux Live OS CD/DVD and could usually just bypass any NTFS Security and Permissions.  I used Knoppix, extensively through 5.1.1, as root however have used other Linux Live OS Distros to do the same.  So you could try creating a Linux VM just using a Linux Live OS ISO Image to boot from while the virtual disk is assigned to that VM.

0 Kudos
senglory
Contributor
Contributor

Windows XP

0 Kudos
senglory
Contributor
Contributor

Do you want to say creation of Linux VM via booting from Linux ISO?

0 Kudos
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

senglory wrote: Do you want to say creation of Linux VM via booting from Linux ISO?