VMware Communities
pnewell
Contributor
Contributor

Can't Open sv2i Files

Good day all,

So I'm new to VMware (been using the MS products for a while though) and I have an issue here with opening Backup Exec System Recovery 7 files in VMware Workstation 6.0.2. My understanding is that I should be able to simply click "File>Open" and select a file with sv2i extension, but when I try it I get errors (depending on the system); either a "VMware Import Wizard" error that states Unable to determine Guest Operating System or Source format was not understood, or a "VMware Workstation" error that states Failed to query source for information.

My network admin downloaded & installed the VMware Converter, which allowed him to convert two of our three sv2i files into hard disks, but what we really want to get here is the ability to 'Open' them; quick & dirty conversion, but it's not working.

Anyone have any thoughts or suggestions here? The BESR version we are running is 7.0.1.

Thanks!

-Paul

0 Kudos
7 Replies
asatoran
Immortal
Immortal

Symantec changed the file format in BESR7/Ghost12. You need to update your V2IDISKLIB.DLL. See Symantec KB293194. Unfortunately, I can't find the link to download the files anymore. So you may have to call Symantec if no one else posts a link. (Both WS6 and Converter3 would need the updated DLL.)

Alternatively, you can use BESR7's built-in feature to create VMDKs. In the KB article is a link to KB292809 which describes how to do that. Create a new VM and specify the VMDKs you created with BESR7 instead.

0 Kudos
pnewell
Contributor
Contributor

I already did that, and alas, it didn't help. Smiley Sad

Any other thoughts?

0 Kudos
asatoran
Immortal
Immortal

Already did what? Install the DLL file or use BESR to create the VMDK? I have done both and have made VM successfully (XP host, WS6 on one and Converter3 to Server1 on Win2k3 host.)